To avoid the disintegration of Nigeria, like federal Yugoslavia, I suggest a confederation of ethnic regions with a representative government at the centre. The confederation Prime Minister should be rotated among the regions every four years. The suggested regions are:

1. The Gbagi, Gwari and related ethnic groups in FCT/Abuja, Kaduna and Niger States ;
2. Edo-Delta [Midwest/Bendel];
3. The Izon [Bayelsa and the undisputed Izon wards/LGAs in Delta, Rivers];
4. Rivers State;
5. The Annang and Ibibio;
6. The Oro and Efik;
7. Ogoja [old Ogoja Province];
8. The Yoruba [SW and undisputed Yoruba wards/LGAs in Kwara, Kogi];
9. The Nupe and related ethnic groups;

10.The region of the original Hausa states (Biram, Daura, Gobir, Kano, Katsina, Rano, and Zazzau and related ethnic groups];

11. Benue and Plateau;

12. The Kanuri (Kanouri, Kanowri,Yerwa)and their cultural neighbours [Yobe, Nga people in Bauchi, etc.];
13. Adamawa and Taraba;

14. Ndigbo (SE)

The following positions SHOULD NOT be held by the five major groups [i.e. Fula, Hausa, Izon, Ndigbo, Yoruba] to forestall the recurrent attempts by the major ethnic groups to dominate our country:

President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces;

Chief Judge; President of the Senate; Speaker of the House of Representatives;

Chiefs of Army, Air force, Navy; and

The heads of paramilitary agencies.

Views: 726


You need to be a member of Vanguard Online Community to add comments!

Join Vanguard Online Community

Comment by Ogba on April 11, 2010 at 6:51am
Do you actually believe that this is the solution at this stage in time? There is too much at stake for all that.

Forum Categories

© 2022   Created by Vanguard Media Ltd.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service