More mighty men fall...*Oyinlola, Omisore, Nnamani, Orji Kalu, Alli Modu Sheriff

* Adedibu, Akinjide, Obasanjo, Yar'Adua's children lose


Senate seats: PDP 36; ACN 13; CPC 5;  ANPP 4; Labour 3; APGA 1; DPP 1


By Clifford Ndujihe, Deputy Political Editor

MORE political heavy weights continued to fall, yesterday, as more results of Saturday’s National Assembly polls tumbled in last night.

House of Representatives Speaker, Hon. Dimeji Bankole, daughter of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Senator Iyabo Obasanjo-Bello and Maryam Umar Yar'Adua, were among political gladiators who were taught a bitter lesson at the polls.

Leading members of the National Assembly and political heavyweights who met their waterloo at the elections include immediate past governor of Ondo State, Dr. Olusegun Agagu and Senator Daisy Danjuma.

Other casualties include former Governor of Osun State, Chief Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Senator Iyiola Omisore, Senator Chimaroke Nnamani, Senator Lekan Mustapha, Senator Patricia Akwashiki and Senator Bode Olajumoke.

From the polls, a host of new faces will be featured when the seventh Senate resumes on June 4, 2011. They include Governor Bukola Sarakai of Kwara State, Engr. Barnabas Gemade, Chief Gbenga Kaka, Mrs Oluremi Tinubu,  Solomon Ewuga, Chief Pius Ewherido.

Of the 94 senatorial seats contested, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, in spite of substantial losses still maintains its lead over the other parties, cornering 36 of the 60 seats already released.

PDP is followed by the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) with 13 seats, Congress for Progressive Change, CPC (5), All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP (4), Labour Party (3) APGA(1) and Democratic Peoples Party, DPP (1).


Views: 625


You need to be a member of Vanguard Online Community to add comments!

Join Vanguard Online Community

Comment by Ige philip on April 11, 2011 at 12:30am
More of this

Forum Categories

© 2021   Created by Vanguard Media Ltd.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service