Delta commissioners resign to contest Assembly seats

By Austin Ogwuda
ASABA — TWO commissioners in Delta State, formally resigned their appointment, yesterday, to enable them to contest for seats at the state House of Assemby, come 2011.

They are Mr. Raymos Guanah, former Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Development and Mr. Ejaife Odebala, former Commissioner in charge of Project Monitoring.

Odebala is contesting the Sapele constituency seat, while Guanah is running for Patani constituency.

Incidentally, Odebala was one of the vociferous legislators during the Ibori-led administration, when he represented Sapele constituency for two terms.

Immediate past Secretary to the State Government, SSG, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, opened the floodgate when he voluntarily resigned early July to contest for the Delta North Senatorial race.

While describing him as a worthy SSG, Uduaghan during a send forth party organised in his honour said, “The truth is when his resignation was announced, I got a lot of distress calls from many parts of the country, they were saying, 'we hope he did not resign because we are quarreling or we had disagreements,' and I said no, that he resigned because he needed time to face his aspiration.

“All I can wish him is that God will grant him his heart desire. As a friend and a brother, if he requires my assistance in achieving his aspiration, I will do my best”, the Governor said.

Views: 61


You need to be a member of Vanguard Online Community to add comments!

Join Vanguard Online Community

Forum Categories

© 2022   Created by Vanguard Media Ltd.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service